Faculty & Staff

Teachers are involved in all aspects of school life and are role models committed to our holistic approach to education. Two-thirds of our faculty have earned, or are working towards, a Master’s Degree.


We have an agile approach to curriculum development. Administration and faculty are constantly evaluating student performance to inform our programs and instructional practices. To stay in front of emerging educational trends and best practices, St. Athanasius provides professional development to our faculty, led by outside consultants and experts.

 

These areas include: Collins Writing, curriculum mapping, differentiation, crisis management, safety, technology and assessment. Our administration and faculty continually analyze our program’s effectiveness for the best outcome for our students.

Leadership, Faculty and Staff

McClay



 
Carol McClay
Principal


B.A. Psychology & Sociology
University of Notre Dame 


M. ED.

University of Notre Dame

ADD Center for Transformational Educational Leadership Fellow, Alliance for Catholic Education
University of Notre Dame


Certification for Educational Administration and Supervision

DePaul University


Lector


Member, Archdiocese of Chicago Principals' Association


Member, Illinois Principals Association


Member, ASCD

cmcclay@saintas.net
       
Quish Mary Quish
Assistant Principal
Technology Coordinator
STEM Administrator
Humanities Co-Teacher
French and Spanish Trip Coordinator
B.A. English, Secondary Education, French, Cum Laude
Dominican University

M.A. English Literature
Northwestern University

M. ED. School Technology
Loyola University

Instructor, Graduate School of Education
Loyola University

American Memory Fellow
Library of Congress

National Distinguished Teacher of the Year
NCEA

National Endowment of the Humanities Summer Fellow
mquish@saintas.net
       

Junior Kindergarten

       
Ryan Kelly Ryan
Environmental Committee
Service Projects Committee
B.A. Elementary Education
Marquette University

State of Illinois, Early Childhood Endorsement
kryan@saintas.net
       

Kindergarten

 
Corrigan Colleen Corrigan
Extended Day
B.S. Elementary Education, High Honors
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
ccorrigan@saintas.net
       

Unit A (Grades 1 & 2)

       
Cockerill
Meagan Cockerill 
Reading, Writing, Language Arts, Math, Religion, Science, Social Studies
M. Ed. Elementary Education 
Depaul University


B.A. Anthropology, History
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
mcockerill@saintas.net
       

Unit B (Grades 3 & 4)

       
Bollam Sarah Bollam
Reading, Writing, Language Arts, Math, Religion, Science, Social Studies

Recess Retreat
Extended Day
Eucharist Minister
B.S. Elementary Education
Loyola University
sbollam@saintas.net
       
Quirk Colleen O' Mara
Reading, Writing, Language Arts, Math, Religion, Science, Social Studies

Recess Retreat
Before School Care
Extended Day
Service Committee
B.S. Elementary Education, Magna Cum Laude
Loyola University 

M. ED. in Reading and Literacy
Benedictine University
comara@saintas.net
       

Unit C (Grades 5 & 6)

       
b-bush-2017
Barbara Bush
6th Grade Cohort
Math

Future City Moderator
B.A. Mathematics
Assumption College, Worcester, Mass.

M. ED. in Math Education
University of Massachusetts-Amherst

bbush@saintas.net
       
Johnson Deborah Johnson
6th Grade Cohort
5th Grade: Social Studies
6th Grade: Reading, Social Studies


Co-Humanities Facilitator
Technology Committee
School Climate Committee
Unit C Representative
Advanced Ed
Leadership Team

Eucharist Minister
B.A. History and Education
Barat College

M.A. Curriculum and Instruction,
Summa Cum Laude 
Concordia University

American Memory Fellow 
Library of Congress

Archdiocese of Chicago
Distinguished Service Award 2014
djohnson@saintas.net

     
Johnson Stephanie Johnson
5th Grade Cohort
5th Grade: Reading, Science, Language Arts
6th Grade: Vocabulary


Student Council Moderator
Camp Timber-Lee Coordinator,
Safety & Crisis Management
Leadership Team
B.S. Elementary Education, Dean’s List 
Illinois State University
sjohnson@saintas.net
       
 Miller Laura Miller
5th Grade Cohort
Religion

B.A. French
Saint Mary’s College, Notre Dame, Indiana

M.A. Education
DePaul University

lmiller@saintas.net
       
Lauren Crowe Lauren Crowe
6th Grade: Language Arts
B.S. Middle Grades Education/
Social Studies and Reading, ESL Endorsed

Loyola University Chicago
lcrowe@saintas.net
       
 Vitaioli Mary Vitaioli
6th Grade: Science

Science Fair Coordinator
Future City Moderator
Environmental Committee
Unit D Representative
Eucharistic Minister
B.S. Elementary Education
Elmhurst College

M.A. Curriculum and Instruction
National Louis University

mvitaioli@saintas.net
       

Unit D (Grades 7 & 8)


     
Lauren Crowe
Lauren Crowe
7th Grade Cohort
7th Grade: Language Arts, Social Studies
8th Grade: Social Studies
B.S. Middle Grades Education/
Social Studies and Reading, ESL Endorsed

Loyola University Chicago

lcrowe@saintas.net

     
Speth
Jack Speth
7th Grade Cohort
Math

Technology Committee
B.S. Mathematics
Xavier University, Cincinnati, Ohio

jspeth@saintas.net
       
Cannariato
Nick Cannariato
7th Grade: Literature
8th Grade: Literature, Language Arts

B.A. English
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

M. ED. in English Education
Depaul University

ncannariato@saintas.net

     
 Johnson  Deborah Johnson
8th Grade: Religion
 B.A. History and Education
Barat College

M.A. Curriculum and Instruction,
Summa Cum Laude 
Concordia University

American Memory Fellow 
Library of Congress

Archdiocese of Chicago
Distinguished Service Award 2014
djohnson@saintas.net
       
Vitaioli Mary Vitaioli
7th Grade: Science, Religion
8th Grade: Science

Science Fair Coordinator
Future City Moderator
Environmental Committee
Unit D Representative
Eucharistic Minister
B.S. Elementary Education
Elmhurst College

M.A. Curriculum and Instruction
National Louis University
mvitaioli@saintas.net
       

Specialists

       
Canmann Dena Canmann
Learning Specialist
Grades 5-8
B.S. Special/ Elementary Education
Indiana University, Bloomington, Indiana

Learning Behavior Specialist certification

dcanmann@saintas.net
       
Bobby Lee Bobby Lee
Learning Specialist
Grades K-4
Bio Coming Soon rlee@saintas.net
       
Photo
Coming
Soon
Gloria Otarola
Spanish Instructor
Spanish Educator

Little Linguists Arts Academy

spanish@saintas.net
       
Tuminello
Emma Tumminello McLean
Choir Director
Music
Grades JK-8

Liturgical Musician
Parish Music Minister
B.A. Psychology, Music Minor
Augustana College
etumminello@saintas.net
       
CMcShane
Collin McShane
Social Emotional Learning
B.A. Psychology
Beloit College
Beloit, Wisconsin

M. ED. School Counseling
Loyola University
Chicago

Licensed Professional Counselor
Loyola University
Chicago
cmcshane@saintas.net
       
Miller
Laura Miller
French Instructor
Grades K-7

Technology
Grades K-4
B.A. French
Saint Mary’s College,
Notre Dame, Indiana

M.A. Education
DePaul University

lmiller@saintas.net

     
Ryter Mary Ryter

Art Instructor

Recess Retreat
PEP (Paint Evanston's Plows)
YEA (Young Evanston
Artists) Fine Arts Night
B.A. Art and Social Studies
Webster University, St. Louis, MO

M.A. Interdisciplinary Arts
Columbia College, Chicago, IL
mryter@saintas.net
       

Amy Caulk
Band Instructor
Band Director

Music Education Services

caulk.band@musicedservices.org

       
Fitzpatrick
Morgan Fitzpatrick
P.E. Instructor
Field Day Coordinator
B.A. History
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Professional Educator License, Secondary Education
Northeastern Illinois University

mfitzpatrick@saintas.net



     

Jaime Vehovsky
Occupational 
Therapist
B.S. Occupational Therapy
Indiana University, Bloomington, IA

ot@saintas.net
       

Teacher Aides

       
Kucera Barb Kucera
Kindergarten Aide

bkucera@saintas.net
       
Muench Mary Lou Muench
Junior Kindergarten Aide

mmuench@saintas.net
       
Suennen Shari Suennen
Junior Kindergarten
Unit A Aide


ssuennen@saintas.net
       
MZoltan
Molly Zoltan 
Kindergarten Aide
  mzoltan@saintas.net
        

Staff

       
Betz Dawn Betz
Athletic Director

dbetz@saintas.net
       
Berg Judy Berg
Communications

jberg@saintas.net
       

Cindy Snyder
Nurse Consultant

nurse@saintas.net
       
Moreno Jose Moreno
Maintenance

jmoreno@saintas.net



Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.