Faculty & Staff

Teachers are involved in all aspects of school life and are role models committed to our holistic approach to education. Two-thirds of our faculty have earned, or are working towards, a Master’s Degree.


We have an agile approach to curriculum development. Administration and faculty are constantly evaluating student performance to inform our programs and instructional practices. To stay in front of emerging educational trends and best practices, St. Athanasius provides professional development to our faculty, led by outside consultants and experts.

 

These areas include: Collins Writing, curriculum mapping, differentiation, crisis management, safety, technology and assessment. Our administration and faculty continually analyze our program’s effectiveness for the best outcome for our students.

Leadership, Faculty and Staff

McClay



 
Carol McClay
Principal


B.A. Psychology & Sociology
University of Notre Dame 


M. ED.

University of Notre Dame 


Certification for Educational Administration and Supervision

DePaul University


Lector


Member, Archdiocese of Chicago Principals' Association


Member, Illinois Principals Association


Member, ASCD

cmcclay@saintas.net
       
Quish Mary Quish
Assistant Principal
Technology Coordinator
Humanities Co-Teacher
French and Spanish Trip Coordinator
B.A. English, Secondary Education, French, Cum Laude
Dominican University

M.A. English Literature
Northwestern University

M. ED. School Technology
Loyola University

Instructor, Graduate School of Education
Loyola University

American Memory Fellow
Library of Congress

National Distinguished Teacher of the Year
NCEA

National Endowment of the Humanities Summer Fellow
mquish@saintas.net
       

Junior Kindergarten

       
Ryan Kelly Ryan
Environmental Committee
Service Projects Committee
B.A. Elementary Education
Marquette University

State of Illinois, Early Childhood Endorsement
kryan@saintas.net
       

Kindergarten

 
Corrigan Colleen Corrigan
Extended Day
B.S. Elementary Education, High Honors
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
ccorrigan@saintas.net
       

Unit A (Grades 1 & 2)

       
Photo Coming
Soon
Meagan Cockerill 

M. Ed. Elementary Education 
Depaul University


B.A. Anthropology, History
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
mcockerill@saintas.net
       
Lee Robert Lee B.S. Elementary Education
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
rlee@saintas.net
       

Unit B (Grades 3 & 4)

       
Bollam Sarah Bollam
Social Studies, Religion

Recess Retreat
Extended Day
Eucharist Minister
B.S. Elementary Education
Loyola University
sbollam@saintas.net
       
Miller Laura Miller
Unit B Resource Teacher, Technology
B.A. French
Saint Mary’s College, Notre Dame, Indiana

M.A. Education
DePaul University
lmiller@saintas.net
       
Quirk Colleen O' Mara
Reading, Writing, Language Arts, Math, Religion, Science

Recess Retreat
Before School Care
Extended Day
Service Committee
B.S. Elementary Education, Magna Cum Laude
Loyola University 

M. ED. in Reading and Literacy
Benedictine University
comara@saintas.net
       

Unit C (Grades 5 & 6)

       
b-bush-2017
Barbara Bush
Math

Future City Moderator
B.A. Mathematics
Assumption College, Worcester, Mass.

M. ED. in Math Education
University of Massachusetts-Amherst

 bbush@saintas.net
       
Johnson Deborah Johnson
Reading, Social Studies, Religion

Co-Humanities Facilitator
Technology Committee
School Climate Committee
Unit C Representative
Advanced Ed  Leadership Team

Eucharist Minister
B.A. History and Education
Barat College

M.A. Curriculum and Instruction,
Summa Cum Laude 
Concordia University

American Memory Fellow 
Library of Congress

Archdiocese of Chicago
Distinguished Service Award 2014
djohnson@saintas.net
       
Johnson Stephanie Johnson
Reading, Science, Language Arts, Library

Student Council Moderator
Camp Timber-Lee Coordinator,
Safety & Crisis Management
Leadership Team
B.S. Elementary Education, Dean’s List 
Illinois State University
sjohnson@saintas.net
       
 Miller Laura Miller
Religion
B.A. French
Saint Mary’s College, Notre Dame, Indiana

M.A. Education
DePaul University

lmiller@saintas.net
       
 d-paisley-2017 Danielle Paisley
Language Arts
 B.S. Elementary Education
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Currently pursuing:
M.A. in TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages)
Concordia University, Chicago

Middle Level Endorsement
University of Phoenix
 dpaisley@saintas.net
       
 Vitaioli Mary Vitaioli
Science

Science Fair Coordinator
Future City Moderator
Environmental Committee
Unit D Representative
Eucharistic Minister
B.S. Elementary Education
Elmhurst College

M.A. Curriculum and Instruction
National Louis University

 mvitaioli@saintas.net
       

Unit D (Grades 7 & 8)

       
Lee
Robert Lee
Religion
B.S. Elementary Education
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

rlee@saintas.net
       
d-paisley-2017
Danielle Paisley
Social Studies, Language Arts
B.S. Elementary Education
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Currently pursuing:
M.A. in TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages)
Concordia University, Chicago

Middle Level Endorsement
University of Phoenix

dpaisley@saintas.net
       
Speth Jack Speth
Math

Technology Committee
B.S. Mathematics
Xavier University, Cincinnati, Ohio
jspeth@saintas.net
       
Vitaioli Mary Vitaioli
Science, Math, Religion

Science Fair Coordinator
Future City Moderator
Environmental Committee
Unit D Representative
Eucharistic Minister
B.S. Elementary Education
Elmhurst College

M.A. Curriculum and Instruction
National Louis University
mvitaioli@saintas.net
       

Specialists

       
Canmann Dena Canmann
Learning Specialist
Grades 5-8
B.S. Special/ Elementary Education
Indiana University, Bloomington, Indiana

Learning Behavior Specialist certification

dcanmann@saintas.net
       
Photo
Coming
Soon

Raul Duran
Spanish
Spanish Educator, Theater

Little Linguists Arts Academy

 
       
Photo
Coming
Soon

Jackie Haug
Learning Specialist
Grades K-4
M.A. Teaching
National Louis University

B.A. Anthropology
University of Colorado, Boulder
jhaug@saintas.net
       
Tuminello
Emma Tumminello Mclean
Choir Director
Music
Grades JK-6

Liturgical Musician
Parish Music Minister
B.A. Psychology, Music Minor
Augustana College
 etumminello@saintas.net
       
CMcShane
Collin McShane
School Counselor
B.A. Psychology
Beloit College
Beloit, Wisconsin

M. ED. School Counseling
Loyola University
Chicago

Currently pursuing:
Licensed Professional Counselor
Loyola University
Chicago
 cmcshane@saintas.net
       
Miller
Laura Miller
French Instructor
B.A. French
Saint Mary’s College,
Notre Dame, Indiana

M.A. Education
DePaul University

lmiller@saintas.net

     
Ryter Mary Ryter

Art Instructor

Recess Retreat
PEP (Paint Evanston's Plows)
YEA (Young Evanston
Artists) Fine Arts Night
B.A. Art and Social Studies
Webster University, St. Louis, MO

M.A. Interdisciplinary Arts
Columbia College, Chicago, IL
mryter@saintas.net
       
Photo
Coming
Soon

Pamela Swenson
P.E. Instructor
Field Day Coordinator
Bio Coming Soon pswenson@saintas.net

     
Photo
Coming
Soon

Jaime Vehovsky
Occupational 
Therapist
Bio Coming Soon
 
       

Teacher Aides

       
Kucera Barb Kucera
Kindergarten Aide

bkucera@saintas.net
       
Muench Mary Lou Muench
Junior Kindergarten Aide

mmuench@saintas.net
       
Suennen Shari Suennen
Junior Kindergarten,
Unit A Aide


ssuennen@saintas.net
       
MZoltan
Molly Zoltan 
Kindergarten Aide
  mzoltan@saintas.net
        

Staff

       
Betz Dawn Betz
Athletic Director

dbetz@saintas.net
       
Berg Judy Berg
Communications

jberg@saintas.net
       
a-hogrefe-2017
Amy Hogrefe
Nurse Consultant

nurse@saintas.net
       
Moreno Jose Moreno
Maintenance

jmoreno@saintas.net



Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.