Faculty & Staff

Teachers are involved in all aspects of school life and are role models committed to our holistic approach to education. Two thirds of our faculty have earned, or are working towards, a Master’s Degree.


To stay in front of emerging educational trends and best practices, St. Athanasius provides professional development to our faculty, led by outside consultants and experts.

 

These areas include: Collins Writing, curriculum mapping, differentiation, crisis management, safety, technology and assessment. Our administration and faculty continually analyze our program’s effectiveness for the best outcome for our students.

Leadership, Faculty and Staff

McClay



 
Carol McClay
Principal


B.A. Psychology & Sociology
University of Notre Dame 


M. ED.

University of Notre Dame 


Certification for Educational Administration and Supervision

DePaul University


Lector


Member, Archdiocese of Chicago Principals' Association


Member, Illinois Principals Association


Member, ASCD

cmcclay@saintas.net
       
Quish Mary Quish
Assistant Principal
Humanities Co-Teacher
French and Spanish Trip Coordinator
B.A. English, Secondary Education, French, Cum Laude
Dominican University

M.A. English Literature
Northwestern University

M. ED. School Technology
Loyola University

Instructor, Graduate School of Education
Loyola University

American Memory Fellow
Library of Congress

National Distinguished Teacher of the Year
NCEA

National Endowment of the Humanities Summer Fellow
mquish@saintas.net
       

Junior Kindergarten

       
Ryan Kelly Ryan
Environmental Committee
Service Projects Committee
B.A. Elementary Education
Marquette University

State of Illinois, Early Childhood Endorsement
kryan@saintas.net
       

Kindergarten

 
Corrigan Colleen Corrigan
Extended Day
B.S. Elementary Education, High Honors
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
ccorrigan@saintas.net
       

Unit A (Grades 1 & 2)

       
Bertz Carly Bertz

B.A. Elementary Education, Cum Laude
St. Norbert College, WI
cbertz@saintas.net
       
Lee Robert Lee B.S. Elementary Education
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
rlee@saintas.net
       

Unit B (Grades 3 & 4)

       
Bollam Sarah Bollam
Reading, Math, Social Studies, Religion

Recess Retreat
Extended Day
Be Fair Committee
Eucharist Minister
B.S. Elementary Education
Loyola University
sbollam@saintas.net
       
Handel
Kelli Handel
Reading, Math, Language Arts, Religion

Environmental Committee
Unit Rep
Service Committee
Eucharist Minister
B.S. Family and Child Studies
Michigan State University

M.A.T. (Master of Art in Teaching)
National Louis University
khandel@saintas.net 
       
Miller Laura Miller
French, Reading, Math, Language Arts, Library
B.A. French
Saint Mary’s College, Notre Dame, Indiana

M.A. Education
DePaul University
lmiller@saintas.net
       
Quirk Colleen O' Mara
Reading, Math, Religion, Science

Recess Retreat
Before School Care
Extended Day
Service Committee
B.S. Elementary Education, Magna Cum Laude
Loyola University 

M. ED. in Reading and Literacy
Benedictine University
cquirk@saintas.net
       

Unit C (Grades 6 & 7)

       
Byrne Marsha Byrne
Religion, Language Arts

Student Council Moderator
Connections for the Homeless Lunch Program
Service Committee
Catholic Schools Committee
Safety and Crisis Committee
B.A. Elementary Education
Saint Mary’s College, Notre Dame, Indiana

M.A.T. (Master of Art in Teaching)
National Louis University
mbyrne@saintas.net
       
Johnson Deborah Johnson
Reading, Social Studies, Religion

Co-Humanities Facilitator
Technology Committee
School Climate Committee
Unit C Representative
Advanced Ed  Leadership Team

Eucharist Minister
B.A. History and Education
Barat College

M.A. Curriculum and Instruction,
Summa Cum Laude 
Concordia University

American Memory Fellow 
Library of Congress

Archdiocese of Chicago
Distinguished Service Award 2014
djohnson@saintas.net
       
Johnson Stephanie Johnson
Reading, Science, Language Arts, Library

Student Council Moderator
Camp Timber-Lee Coordinator,
Safety & Crisis Management
Leadership Team
B.S. Elementary Education, Dean’s List 
Illinois State University
sjohnson@saintas.net
       
Speth Jack Speth
Math

Technology Committee
Future City Moderator
B.S. Mathematics
Xavier University, Cincinnati, Ohio
jspeth@saintas.net
       

Unit D (Grades 7 & 8)

       
Cannariato Nick Cannariato
Literature, Language Arts

Scholastic Bowl Coach
Service Committee
B.A. English
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

M. ED. English Education
DePaul University

National Endowment of the Humanities Summer Fellow
ncannariato@saintas.net
       
Gutierrez George Gutierrez
Math
Bachelor of Arts
Northeastern Illinois University

M.S. Science Education
Loyola University

M. ED. Education
DePaul

National Board for Professional Teaching Standards

Bilingual Spanish Certification
ggutierrez@saintas.net
       
Vitaioli Mary Vitaioli
Science, Math
B.S. Elementary Education
Elmhurst College

M.A. Curriculum and Instruction
National Louis University
mvitaioli@saintas.net
       
Zyra Cathy Zyra
Social Studies, Language Arts

iPad Camp
Volleyball Coach
Study Group Advisor
B.A. Elementary Education, Magna Cum Laude
St. Mary’s College, Notre Dame, IN

Licensure in Special Education
czyra@saintas.net
       

Specialists

       
 Everson Nancy Everson
Learning Specialist
Grades K-4
B.A. Elementary Education
Michigan State University

M.A. in Literacy, Language and Culture, Reading Specialist
University of Illinois, Chicago

Network of Michigan Educators
Outstanding Teaching Intern
nveverson@saintas.net
       
Canmann Dena Canmann
Learning Specialist
Grades 5-8
B.S. Special/ Elementary Education
Indiana University, Bloomington, Indiana

Learning Behavior Specialist certification

dcanmann@saintas.net
       
Ryter Mary Ryter

Art Instructor

Recess Retreat
PEP (Paint Evanston's Plows)
YEA (Young Evanston
Artists) Fine Arts Night
B.A. Art and Social Studies
Webster University, St. Louis, MO

M.A. Interdisciplinary Arts
Columbia College, Chicago, IL
mryter@saintas.net
       
Delorit Beth Delorit Maldonado
Spanish 
Spanish Club
Music
Band

Music Lesson Coordinator
B.M. (Bachelor of Music) Performance, Musicology
Northwestern University

M.M. (Masters of Music)
Northwestern University

M.A. Education (in progress)
University of Phoenix

Spanish Certificate
Zador Institute C-1 level, Alicante, Spain

Pacific Music Festival Scholarship, Sapporo, Japan

Adjunct flute Professor
Bradley University

Flutist
Civic Orchestra of Chicago

Graduate Assistant
Northwestern University

edelorit@saintas.net
       
Bolle Jeff Bolle
P.E. Instructor
Varsity Basketball Coach
Former Student Council Moderator
Field Day Coordinator
B.A. Sociology and Psychology
University of Central Florida
4-year Football Letterman

M.A. Education
University of Phoenix

M.A. Counseling (in progress)
Concordia University
jbolle@saintas.net
       
Miller Laura Miller
French Instructor
B.A. French
Saint Mary’s College,
Notre Dame, Indiana

M.A. Education
DePaul University
lmiller@saintas.net
       
 Tuminello
Emma Tuminello Mclean
Choir Director
   etuminello@saintas.net

Teacher Aides

       
Kelly Stephanie Kelly
Kindergarten Aide

skelly@saintas.net
       
Amberg Suzanne Amberg
Unit A Aide

samberg@saintas.net
       
Burke Diane Burke
Unit A Aide

dburke@saintas.net
       
Consolo Donna Consolo
Unit A Aide

dconsolo@saintas.net
       
Kucera Barb Kucera
Unit A Aide

bkucera@saintas.net
       
Muench Mary Lou Muench
Unit A Aide

mmuench@saintas.net
       
Suennen Shari Suennen
Unit A Aide

ssuennen@saintas.net
       

Staff

       
Betz Dawn Betz
Athletic Director

dbetz@saintas.net
       
Berg Judy Berg
Communications

jberg@saintas.net
       
Iglar Donna Iglar
Nurse

diglar@saintas.net
       
Moreno Jose Moreno
Maintenance

jmoreno@saintas.net



Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.